Historical Timeline

1908 – Idaho is a founding member of the Pacific Northwest Conference along with Washington, Washington State, Oregon, Oregon Agricultural College (Oregon State), and Whitman College.

1913 – Idaho’s football field was referred to as “new” in 1913. Although games had been played on MacLean field prior to 1913 the uneven field was graded intentionally as an athletic field in 1913.

1921 – Idaho, along with USC, is admitted to the Pacific Coast Conference (PCC)

1927 – Idaho ties with Stanford and USC for the PCC championship.

1935 – Idaho, along with Montana, is limited to four PCC conference games, including the game against Montana.  This effectively eliminates Idaho and Montana from eligibility for the conference championship and from Rose Bowl consideration. Vandal booster club founded.

1937 – Neale Stadium is dedicated with a victory over Oregon State

1938 – Little Brown Stein trophy introduced

1942 – Full membership in PCC restored, but no California teams play in Moscow from this point forward

1943 – Idaho becomes one of over 180 teams to quit football for the duration of the second world war after the secretary of war declares that army trainees cannot participate.  Other conference teams to drop football include Oregon State, Oregon, Montana, Stanford and Washington State.

1954 – Skip Stahley takes over as head football coach

1958 – Pacific Coast conference dissolves leaving Idaho as an independent in football.

1963 – Idaho becomes a founding member of the Big Sky Conference and is the only member who plays major college football.

1966 – Washington State plays its last game in Moscow.

1969 – Neale Stadium burns.

1971 – New Idaho Stadium opens.  Idaho plays its first game (and loses) against Boise State.  Idaho again wins the Big Sky championship.

1973 – Idaho is invited to join the PCAA (Big West).  The SBOE votes down the conference change and Idaho is forced to drop to college division football. Idaho drops wrestling as an intercollegiate sport.

1980 – Idaho drops baseball as an intercollegiate sport.

1998 – December 30 – First bowl game victory in the history of the program.  Idaho 42, Southern Miss 35.  Humanitarian Bowl, Boise, ID

2009 – December 30 – Second Humanitarian Bowl victory.  Idaho 42, Bowling Green 41.


1 Response to Historical Timeline

  1. Pingback: The Kibbie Dome, and the Vandals, are in Dire Straights « Sports with Neil

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s